Good Morning,

As you are likely aware, on February 12, 2021 “NYSED submitted a formal request to the United States Department of Education (USDE) to waive state testing requirements at the elementary, middle, and high school levels.” However, as the USDE has not yet responded to that waiver, at this time NWCSD is moving forward with the scheduling of the portions of the 3-8 tests that NYSED will require to be administered, should the USDE not approve the waiver. 

Please note that because of the physical space restrictions in place as part of our Continuity of Learning Plan, elementary students who refuse to take the test will engage in independent reading, at their desk, while other students take the assessments.

ETMS students who refuse to take the assessment will also engage in independent reading for the duration of the assessment in a separate classroom.  Classes for both virtual and in-person students will begin at about 10:15 am.  Students who have refused the assessment and stayed home can be signed in starting at 10:15 am.  

We will provide additional information should NYSED issue guidance that results in a change of this plan.

The following tables indicate the testing days for the 3-8 ELA, Math, and Science tests. Building-specific information will follow. 

Grades 3-8 ELA

Date

Elementary

ETMS

Mon, April 19

Asynchronous Day - No Testing

Asynchronous Day - No Testing

Tue, April 20

Students Return

Students Return

Wed, April 21

WS, CV, ER: Grade 3

Grades 6-8

Thu, April 22

WS, CV, ER: Grade 4

Tuscarora: Grades 3-6 Regular and Virtual Program Students

Grades 6-8

Fri, April 23

WS, CV, ER: Grade 5

Virtual Program Students and Makeups

Mon, April 26

Makeups

Makeups

Tue, April 27

Makeups

Makeups

Wed, April 28

WS, CV, ER Virtual Program

Makeups

Thu, April 29

Makeups

Makeups

Fri, April 30

Makeups

Makeups

Grades 3-8 Math

Date

Elementary

ETMS

Mon, May 3

No Testing

No Testing

Tue, May 4

WS, CV, ER: Grade 3

Tuscarora: Grades 3-6 Regular and Virtual Program Students

Grades 6-8

Wed, May 5

WS, CV, ER: Grade 4

Grades 6-8

Thu, May 6

WS, CV, ER: Grade 5

Virtual Program Students and Makeups

Fri, May 7

Makeups

Makeups

Mon, May 10

Makeups

Makeups

Tue, May 11

Makeups

Makeups

Wed, May 12

WS, CV, ER Virtual Program

Makeups

Thu, May 13

Makeups

Makeups

Grades 4 and 8 Science

Date

Elementary

ETMS

Mon, June 7

No Testing

Virtual Program Students: Grade 8

Tue, June 8

WS, CV, ER and Tuscarora: Grade 4

Grade 8

Wed, June 9

Virtual Program Students: Grade 4

Grade 8